Managing users on your domain
As your team changes over time, you may need to remove someone's access to the platform, or change the type of user they are. This article explains what you can do yourself as a team leader, and what needs to come to our support team.
Never delete users from the platform. Instead, users are always suspended. Suspending a user preserves everything they have contributed — forms they have built, scores and comments they have given, and any work on applications all remain exactly as they are. The only thing that changes is that the user can no longer access the platform.
Submit.com does not currently have a recycle bin or soft delete. All deletions are permanent and cannot be rolled back.
As a team leader, you can suspend the following users yourself, following the steps in the section below:
- Team members
- External reviewers
- Standard users
Team leaders can only be managed by our support team. If you need a team leader's account suspended or a new Team Leader added, please contact us at support@submit.com and we will take care of it for you.
Converting a user type
Changing a user from one type to another — for example, converting a standard user into a team member — is also handled by our support team. To request a conversion, email support@submit.com letting us know the user's name, email and the user type you would like them changed to, and we will make the change for you.
Note: For any request that comes to support@submit.com, it helps if the request comes from a team leader on the domain, so we can confirm the change has been authorised. Once you contact support and we convert the user, the user will need to log out and log back in again for any changes to take effect on their end.
How to Suspend a User
To maintain comments and scores amongst other user data, we always recommended that a user is suspended rather than deleted.
**A deleted user has all their user data purged from the system and this cannot be reversed**
Why suspend a user? There could be several reasons why you would need to suspend a user. Usually, it’s an admin user that would be suspended if they are leaving their role or organisation. You may also need to suspend a team user to free up a user licence, so another team user can be added to the platform.
To initiate the process of suspending a user account, first navigate to the team section within your domain.
Once there, if needed utilise the search function to locate the specific user you wish to suspend.
After identifying the correct user, click on the option labeled "Manage Account."
On the Users account, locate the status section and choose the option to suspend the account.
This will effectively halt the user’s access to the system while maintaining the users comments and scores.
For this reason we always recommended that a user is suspended rather than deleted.
**A deleted user has all their user data purged from the system and this cannot be reversed**
I have a lot of users to manage. Can any of this be done in bulk?
No, each of these actions must be done manually. We offer only manual options to prevent user error when multiple users are suspended, converted, or deleted accidentally. These functions require the utmost sensitivity for data maintenance, so we don't provide bulk actions for them.